Minutes

Dental Senate Meeting July 14, 2020

11:30 am – 12:15 pm Online Meeting

Present: Drs. E. Reichenberger (chair), S. Lepowsky, S. Antic, , S. Brocke, M. Brown, I. Chen, R. Clark, J. Cotney, E. Dutra, P. Epstein, A. Gopalakrishna, R. Kelly, S. Kurup, R. Lalla, T. Liang, P.Maye, F. Nichols, P. Rungruanganut, T. Schmidt, L. Song, Yu-Hsiu Wang, S. Raghavendra

Meeting was called to order at 11:32 am.

Approval of Dental Senate Meeting Minutes from June 9, 2020

Voting for the Dental Senate Chair and Co-Chair: Following the bylaws, Dr. Lepowsky will solicit additional nominations from the SDM faculty. The election of student and resident representatives are still ongoing. Other vacant Senate seats have either been filled or nominations have been received and voting within departments is under way.

Several items that the Senate had previously discussed had been put on hold due to the Covid-19 crisis. We had received suggestions for bylaw revisions from the Office of the General Counsel. Implementation of those recommendations will be taken up again this month by Drs. Bernstein and Reichenberger prior to further discussion in the Senate. The draft for faculty mentoring and grant reviews that had been brought forward by Dr. Rowe and discussed in the Council on Research will be part of the strategic planning and comments will be solicited from members of the Research Advisory Group. One member of each division and center is represented in this group led by Dr. Lalla. The policy for Departmental reviews is still being discussed within the Council on Academic Environment.

There will be no Senate meeting in August unless pressing matters arise.

The meeting adjourned at 12:15 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Ernst Reichenberger, PhD Chair, Dental Senate