Minutes

Dental Senate Meeting May 11, 2021 11:30 am – 12:15 pm Online Meeting

In attendance: Drs. E. Reichenberger (Chair), S. Antic, J. Balloch, D. Bayarsaihan, E. Bernstein, S. Brocke, S. Brown, I. Chen, J. Cotney, E. Dutra, S. Kurup, C. Lottinger, P. Maye, S. Lepowsky, J. Rabat, S. Ruiz, P. Rungruanganunt, T. Schmidt, A. Schuyler, J. Wagner and Y. Wang

Excused: Drs. M. Barndt, P. Epstein, B. Irizarry, L. Kuhn, R. Clark, R. Kelly, R. Lalla, T. Liang, F. Nichols, A. Tobin, and Q. Zhu

The meeting was called to order at 11:30 am.

Approval of Dental Senate Meeting Minutes from April 13, 2021

The minutes from the last Dental Senate were approved as submitted.

Welcoming New Senators

Dr. Touloumi will replace Dr. Kelly on the Dental Senate. Dr. Barndt, a Clinical Science PT Senator, is leaving Senate and her seat will remain open for the time being.

Nomination and Voting for New Vice Chair of the Senate

The Vice Chair will be voted for in the next steering committee meeting. Dr. Nichols does not have to be excluded from the vote for vice chair of the Dental Senate as there are no term limits.

Voting / Confirmation of Steering Committee Members

Dr. Reichenberger recommended to confirm Steering Committee member terms for one more year until new bylaws are approved and we can revisit the one year vs. three year term decision. In the last steering committee meeting, everyone agreed to serve again.

Dr. Reichenberger sent out an anonymous poll to the group and asked alternate senators to abstain from voting unless the senator is not present. 71% voted to have the senators remain until new guidelines are in place.

Revised Senate Guidelines

Drs. Reichenberger and Bernstein considered all previous comments from the senate and legal office with regards to the Senate Guidelines and asked the members to take one more read through of the document. The document will the forwarded for legal review.

The meeting adjourned at 11:52 am.

Respectfully submitted,

Ernst Reichenberger, PhD Chair, Dental Senate