Minutes

April 13, 2021 11:30 am – 12:15 pm Online Meeting

In attendance: Drs. E. Reichenberger (Chair), S. Brocke, S. Brown, I. Chen, J. Cotney, E. Dutra, P. Epstein, B. Irizarry, L. Kuhn, S. Kurup, R. Lalla, T. Liang, P. Maye, S. Lepowsky, F. Nichols, J. Rabat, S. Ruiz, P. Rungruanganunt, T. Schmidt, and A. Schuyler

Excused: S. Antic, J. Balloch, M. Barndt, D. Bayarsaihan, E. Bernstein, R. Clark, R. Kelly, C. Lottinger, J. Wagner, A. Tobin, Y. Wang, and Q. Zhu

The meeting was called to order at 11:30 am.

Approval of Dental Senate Meeting Minutes from February 9, 2021

The minutes from the last Dental Senate were approved as submitted.

Bylaw Revisions

Over the past two years, Dr. Reichenberger, Dr. Bernstein and others have been working to create a more structured set of bylaws for the School of Dental Medicine. The group took today's meeting as an opportunity to review one last time before handing over the revisions to the attorney general's office. Updates since the last meeting include not naming departments or divisions, but rather, calling them organizational units.

Dr. Lepowsky noted under section 2, article 4, the language of 4.3 and 4.4 is not consistent.

Dr. Nichols commented on one area of the bylaws regarding instructors. There are two types of instructors in the School of Dental Medicine: Clinical Instructors and Basic Science Instructors. We need to examine the language of time limits for these positions.

Miscellaneous

Dr. Reichenberger will email Senators whose term will be expiring on June 30, 2021.

The meeting adjourned at 12:07 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Ernst Reichenberger, PhD Chair, Dental Senate